Updated: 2 days ago
I'm going to start this blog post with a very strong statement:
Bookmarks are the best thing since sliced bread!
Yes, I know some of you are not a fan of this incredible feature, but hopefully I can change your mind with this blog post.
I feel that for you to like bookmarks, you really need to know all the ins and outs of it, otherwise it can be quite overwhelming, specially if you have to create loads of bookmarks in the same report.
First, a little definition of what are bookmarks in Power BI:
Bookmarks save the current filters and slicers, cross-highlighted visuals, sort order, and so on.
Link to docs here.
So, in other words, creating a bookmark is like taking a screenshot of your report page, with all the visuals, filters selections, filtered visuals etc.
I think this is the easiest way to understand a bookmark, it’s like taking a screenshot, remember this and you will always know what bookmarks are!
However, when creating bookmarks, you have a few options available than can be a bit confusing sometimes.
When you create a new bookmark, all the below options are selected by default:
From the image above you can see you have the options separated into two sections, section A and section B.
You will always need at least one option selected in section A, and a single selection from section B.
Confused already? Let me simplify by explaining briefly what each of the options will do to your bookmark:
If you have any of the following applied in your report page, they will be saved in your bookmark: cross filtering between visuals, visuals sort order, visuals drill downs, filter/slicer selections.
If you have any hidden visuals in your report (you can hide/show visuals using the Selection pane), your definitions will be saved, meaning that any visible visuals will show, but any hidden visuals will stay hidden if you use the bookmark. If you have any visuals spotlighted, this will be saved with your bookmark.
> Current page
When selecting the bookmark (using a button for example), you will be taken to the page the bookmark was originally created on.
> All visuals Applies the previous definitions you selected (Data, Display) to all the visuals in the report page the bookmark was created on. In simple terms, you're taking a "screenshot" of your entire report page, all visuals.
> Selected visuals
Applies the above definitions (Data, Display) to selected visuals only (select the visuals using the selection pane when creating the bookmark). In simple terms, you're taking a "screenshot" of the visuals you selected only, not all the visuals in that page.